Chapter 25: Scratch The Itch

Dear readers,

When the itch comes, you just have to scratch it, no matter how hard you resist and even if somehow you manage to avoid giving in to the itch the first time, eventually, it’ll end up being too much work stopping yourself from the relief of scratching that itch and getting on with business as normal. The itch is notoriously persistent, you might think you’ve taken care of things when all of a sudden BOOM, it’s back with a vengeance ready to take you to a trip to hell from all the discomfort you’re gonna be in. I sometimes think about the moods people will be in after quelling the itch, reading this you would probably think all the people would be happy but I can’t come to the conclusion because to me, there are some itches that are meant to be left alone, going anyway near would only be a detriment and by simply ignoring the urge and controlling your desires, you would fair far better than if you got into the boxing right and tried to fight the itch.

Temptations? Desires? Urges? The unknown? All things that fill the head and sway the scales from one side to another in terms of your powers of decision-making. The consequences of confronting the itch might surpass your wildest expectations but at the same time it the confrontation might lead to a reward, a handsome one at that. What does past experience tell you to do? Does it tell you to do the same as you did in the past or tell you to do something differently, you have to come to a conclusion as to what weights you put on the scales and hope your choices were the right ones. Hopefully with hindsight, you’ll know whether you did the right thing but remember, after every decision, another one is waiting to pop up from the ground like a mole and when you put two and two, you’ll realise that there isn’t just one decision, there’s a cluster of them waiting to be whacked like you were playing a game of whack-a-mole. The decision to give into the itch or not, it should be an easy decision but when you think about, it’s not so straightforward.

I have a different kind of itch, one that continues even though I’m scratching away as if there’s no tomorrow, it’s a intense, burning feeling that affects my whole body, screws my face all over the place and leaves me wondering where the hell the itch came from. But why live in fear of it, I know it’ll always linger about and it will come back, why should I let it stop me from making progress in my life. Sometimes through curiosity, I find that scratching at the surface comes discovery and the more I discover, the more handsome the reward becomes. I don’t fear my itch, I embrace it as part of me and my personality.

Don’t get me wrong though, as curious as I am, curbing it isn’t such as a bad idea because if there’s two things I’ve learnt, it’s that firstly the itch can spark a learning curve full of adventure and secondly, the itch can send you spiraling out of control if you’re not careful. Little doses of craziness are manageable but once the doses become stronger, it gets harder to keep a hold of control as the itch tries to take over the situation and potentially tempt you to do things you wouldn’t dare do. Little doses of that addictive sensation of scratching to make the pain go away from time to time is alright but when it becomes a habit, it’s hard to kick as that sensation is as harmful as it is overwhelmingly irresistible. When you start, you can’t stop and what’s worse is that you can’t help it and it’s going to happen again, a destructive spell mixed by an intoxicating concoction of desire and love, sure the itch is a painkiller but when it wears off, the pain comes back and you need more painkillers to cope and soon you’re just gonna trying to survive rather than living like a normal human being.

Scratching the itch right now? Know your limits, don’t overstep the mark.

‘Dr. R’

Author: Dwayne Bickersteth

I like to write. I like to take pictures. That is all.

Leave a Reply

