Chapter 26: Out Of The Shadows

Dear readers,

Anonymity or fame? The center stage or behind the scenes? The leader of the pack or the quiet deputy?

“It’s easy, just pick one or the other, no trick here, just a plain old choice between one of two options…”

tumblr_inline_nfedxvabke1t46iho

“…it’s not as straightforward a choice as I thought but the answer is still easy…”

hqdefault

“…ummm, still haven’t made a decision, but I sure I’ll finally make one, it’s still clear what I want…”

0

“…okay, this is getting a bit weird, why haven’t I come to a conclusion as to what I want to do. In fact, what am I talking about, this is not weird, I’m just being careful about what decision I make…”Oneeternitylater

“…why is this so hard! I dunno what to do!…”

so much later

“…this doesn’t even make any sense, I thought I was narrating this. Who the hell does this ‘narrator’ or his replacement think they are trying to get involved here!”

Excuse me for taking the piss out of the situation, at least I made you think about the good times you had watching Spongebob Squarepants, one of the last survivors of the golden era for kids’ television. If you weren’t a kid during the 90s and the early 00s, you had no childhood! Here Nickelodeon was called by its full name and not just Nick for short and when you wanted Cartoon Network, you got Cartoon Network, not C ‘n’ N. If I wanted C ‘n’ N, I’d just look for channel 506 on Sky or 607 on Virgin because the shows there are just news to me.

But being serious, taking the limelight for something you did is human nature, you did something you felt had a positive impact and naturally, you want to show off. At the same time, you might not want to make a fuss and with not even one second’s worth of gloating, you simply blend into the background. Pick your moments to come out of the shadows well, no-one likes a narcissist, blowing their trumpet so much, the sound of it makes you go so red with anger, all you want to do is burn that trumpet and slap some humility into them but if you did do something meaningful, take the credit before someone else takes it and once they take it, you might never see it again. It could be a once in a lifetime moment so don’t end up regretting what could have been, celebrate what has come into being.

‘Dr. R’

Author: Dwayne Bickersteth

I like to write. I like to take pictures. That is all.

Leave a Reply

