Lethal Bizzle – Pow (Forward Riddim)

I love grime, I can’t put it any other way. I’ve grown up listening to it and seen the buzz and the hype it creates. It might not the most popular of genres or the most understood but it’s my genre and I’ve grown to embrace it. At times, it’s intense, rebellious, controversial, dark but if it wasn’t that way, certain things that have happened in the past wouldn’t be so poignant and grime might have had a totally different new look here in the present day. Now for the first time, I’ve noticed that grime is starting to get genuine recognition amongst the mainstream of music which has been overdue but prior to that, its music stayed under the radar. In the days of pirate radio stations, clashing between different collectives to see who was hot and who was not and MCs just rapping for the fun of it, grime played a part in shaping the culture in London and today, it still does.

So because of that, I decided I wanted to incorporate my favoured genre of music into my blog, making a new section called Grimey Mondays where every Monday, I put up a grime tune from the past that have gained legendary status. These are the sort of songs that all fans of the genre will know about. The archives of grime are full of bangers, hopefully one week at a time, I’ll pluck them out, dust them off and bring them to the present.

So what to choose as my inaugural song for this section in The Journal? It was a hard choice, I need to make an impact. After a few changes, I’ve gone with the ‘pow’. This is the sort of tune you listen to before you go to the gym or go for a run, the sort of tune that gets you out of bed and ready to face the day. An old school classic, a beat and a bunch of MCs in full flow, you don’t hear beats like this nowadays. Who knows, maybe I’ll convert a person or two to grime by doing this.

Author: Dwayne Bickersteth

I like to write. I like to take pictures. That is all.

1 thought on “Lethal Bizzle – Pow (Forward Riddim)”

Leave a Reply

