Ruff Squad – Anna

So for this week, I’m staying with East London with this track from Ruff Squad, another one of grime’s many collectives. With collectives it’s pretty simple to create a hype, if one guy picks up the mic and creates a hype, the others around him want to either equal the hype or raise the bar higher to make a track sound that bit more wavey. To be honest, I don’t know why they called this track “Anna” but anyway, the vibes from this are on point. 140 BPM, 16 bars per MC, a wavey riddim and the MCs getting to work all together make a banger.

By the way, I haven’t brought this up before but whenever I do posts for Grimey Mondays, sometimes I use slang that not all of you might understand so if I use a word you don’t know what means, leave a comment. Don’t be afraid, we’re all here in learn a thing or two in this world and well, I’m just trying to do my bit to educate the masses in my own way.

Author: Dwayne Bickersteth

I like to write. I like to take pictures. That is all.

Leave a Reply

