Quick Update

 

Quick Update

Hey guys, with 2015 almost done and Christmas quickly approaching, it’s a time of reflection about the year’s events and looking ahead to 2016, thinking about what the new year has in place.

For me at least, there was one hurdle I needed to jump over before this year ended and it was quite a momentous one. As some of you may know, I have been studying in university this year, completing my final year in my degree in law. The past 3 years have undoubtedly been the toughest, most difficult years of my life but at the same time, the 3 years have also been the best of my young life. The people I have met, the places I have seen, the experiences I have been through, the pain I have endured, the happiness I have enjoyed, all of it together has made a man of me. Three years of learning responsibility, learning how to cope for myself, learning how to deep dig into your reserves of energy to get the job done, the learning curve at times were frighteningly steep but even though I came close to breaking and even though there were setbacks, I managed to get through it, passing all my exams.

The culmination of my efforts reached a peak when at long last, the day of graduation came and as of last month, I can officially say I am a graduate of law and as such I can happily put the abbreviation “LLB” at the end of my name. It’s without a doubt my greatest achievement, to wear the robes and see my friends and family look at me with nothing but pride is a moment that will stay with me forever. The sheer number of people congratulating me on my success was a humbling experience, to know that there are people I don’t even talk to still wishing congratulations makes me think I’m not as insignificant as I think. I’m not the sort of guy who has lots of friends nor am I the sort of person to be the center of attention so to get the support I did was very pleasant.

With my university studies behind me, I can close this chapter in my life with no regrets, three years of hard work have paid off and now, I have to take the new steps in my journey. I’ve come too far to give up now. If I can succeed in university, I can succeed anywhere. My motivation is now stronger than ever, I’ve made my loved ones proud, now it’s about fulfilling my life and my potential to the fullest.

What will life have in place for me? I’ll leave that to God.

Dwayne Bickersteth LLB.

 

Author: Dwayne Bickersteth

I like to write. I like to take pictures. That is all.

6 thoughts on “Quick Update”

  1. Hi Dr. R.,
    I wanted to come over and thank you for visiting my blog yesterday and attending my Meet and Greet. Law school and blogging! And I thought I was busy. Congratulations on what you’ve achieved.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

  2. After reading this post and then seeing your photo with the cap and gown – such a proud photo – followed by the artsy reflective double one – well I was moved and was glad u included some photos ! Congrats Dr R!!!!!
    And I could relate to some of your journey / but whew – great post and congrats!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

