Quick Update

So I haven’t been posting lately, it’s not like I’ve lost interest in blogging. It’s just that there’s been a change in my life, a positive one at that.

As some of you may know, I graduated from university from last year. My graduation was the culmination of three years of hard work and immense pressure so to complete my degree and graduate is without a doubt the greatest achievement in my life. That was in November last year and in fact my studies had actually finished earlier in the year so after my studies, it’s fair to say I had a lot of time on my hands. At first, it was nice to have no pressure on my shoulders and be free to do what I wanted but after a while, it got to a point where I needed to be using my time more efficiently and looking at my wallet and seeing how dry it was, something had to change. Luckily for me, last month I started an internship at a media company.

It’s a start, a stepping stone, a chance to work in an industry that I have an interest in. Media law was my favourite part of my law degree and it seemed natural to try and pursue something that involved media. I was drawn to the media internship because it involves an editorial aspect to the role, making my own stories and publishing them online. Now I work with the publishing team at the company, going through the different brands that work with the company as well as the different affiliates (bloggers like you and me) who also work with the company. Day by day, I feel like I’m learning more and getting to grips to my new role, it’s not a big role nor is it rather important but I want to do a good job.

You might be wondering why I haven’t tried to pursue something to do with law. After a lot of thought and pondering. I’ve decided that if I want to start making a career for myself in the long term, I need to move away from law indefinitely. With tuition fees and the costs of going through even more studying just to get a training contract at a firm, I simply can’t do that in my circumstances. Life wouldn’t be life if stuff like this didn’t happen, you just have to find a way to best get through the difficulties and find your way. For now, I’m just glad to be working in a new environment, a fresh start. I’m still in touch with a few of my friends from university but now university is in the past, I’m looking forwards and hopefully, I’ll catch a break this year and take another step towards sorting my life out.

Rantaman.

 

Author: Dwayne Bickersteth

I like to write. I like to take pictures. That is all.

Leave a Reply

